dh tier III+ standards

Data center standards exist to evaluate the quality and reliability of a data center's server hosting capability. A four-tier ranking system is used as a benchmark for determining the reliability of a data center. This rating system begins with Tier I and ends with Tier IV. Tier I data centers are essentially warehouses with power. Tier IV data centers offer 2N redundant power and cooling in addition to a 99.99% uptime guarantee.

tier III industry standards

Tier III data center specifications are utilized by larger businesses and feature:

  • 99.982% uptime (Tier III uptime)
  • No more than 1.6 hours of downtime per year
  • N+1 fault tolerant providing at least 72 hour power outage protection

tier IV industry standards

Tier IV data center certification typically serve enterprise corporations and provide the following:

  • 99.995% uptime per year (Tier IV uptime)
  • 2N+1 fully redundant infrastructure (the main difference between tier 3 and tier 4 data centers)
  • 96 hour power outage protection
  • 26.3 minutes of annual downtime.
Data Center Tier Levels- horizontal.jpg